BH Cosmetics 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver.2/Second Edition VS Ebay No Name 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver. 2/Second Edition

I was recently inspired to recreate a look done by my friend Ronnie (http://bowsandcurtseys.blogspot.com/). It was her version of the Kristen Stewart cranberry smokey eye look. One of Ronnie’s staples (and many of you I’m sure have heard of this/own it) is her BH Cosmetics 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver. 2/Second Edition (which runs for $23.96). So I figured since I had the Ebay no name brand 120 eyeshadow palette in ver. 2/Second Edition (which you can find a link for in my F.A.Q. and runs anywhere from $15.00-25.00) I was good to go since she showed a pic of which shadows she used in the palette. WRONG!!!! I was looking at her photo and realized that the shadows somehow looked different than what I had. I mean, they were similar at first glance until you started comparing them. I mean, a lot of folks online have said that they are the same palette, just one has a name and one doesn’t. Try again.

I ordered the BH Cosmetics 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver.2/Second Edition during their sale weekend (and also picked up their brand new 120 Ultra Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette  which I will review later this weekend) and decided to see what was actually going on. Tonight I opened up both palettes and compared them side by side and saw that I WAS RIGHT!! They have the same layout, but some of the shadows are shades different from their counterparts and even have different textures. I thought I’d show you all the pics so you can do your own comparisons. In my opinion, I like the BH palette way better as the colors are richer and some are more deeper than their no brand counterparts. The quality looks to be much better as well. The no name brand DOES have some nice shadows, don’t get me wrong, but I just prefer the BH colors now lol. (Although I will still use the other as well! Waste not, want not!) You also get some shadows in one that you don’t get in the other, so it’s a toss up on personal preference.

Sorry for how messy my used no brand palette is. lol. It’s been loved a lot haha!

On to the photos!

The top of the cases. Top: BH Cosmetics Bottom: No Name Brand from Ebay
The back of the cases. Note that they both put what version/edition the palette is (which is circled) Top: BH Cosmetics Bottom: No Name Brand from Ebay
Left: BH Cosmetics, Right: No Name Brand from Ebay
Left: BH Cosmetics (Top Tray), Right: No Name Brand from Ebay (Top Tray)
Left: BH Cosmetics (Bottom Tray), Right: No Name Brand from Ebay (Bottom Tray)

I hope you all find this post helpful!! And now I have more shadows to add to my weapons of mass destruction/my arsenal/my make up collection ;)! I’m also very glad I took these photos as I will be using them as a point of reference in future tutorials.

4 thoughts on “BH Cosmetics 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver.2/Second Edition VS Ebay No Name 120 Eyeshadow Palette Ver. 2/Second Edition”

  1. Hmm… I only bought a 96 color palette, thinking it should be enough. But now I see I’m missing out on some gorgeous colors!

    And you’re right, they are not the same, but both have some really pretty colors. Now I’m curious about the quality…

    1. The quality on the BH 120 is I think so much better than the Ebay No Name one. I’m going to try the matte white on the BH one on my next look. The proof will be in the pudding on that because the Ebay No Name matte white sucks. lol.

  2. Hei! I had a question. I bought a palette no brand 1st edition from ebay. I was SOOOOOO dissapointed!!! :/
    Especially with the yellow’s and red’s! I can’t find the red color they all look hot pink to me and the yellows were so light they look like a beige color. Buuuuu!!
    I was gonna ask, is the yellows and reds ib this palette good? Like can yu tell once yu apply it that in fact it is a yellow and red color?

    1. Hi Evelyn! To be honest I haven’t touched this palette in well over a year! I honestly dont remember (but if I recall correctly they are exactly how they appear in this post and they are good for the price) and I want to give you an honest answer. The best yellow and red I own is by Sugarpill Cosmetics and the red by Lime Crime in the chinadoll palette. I hope this helps! If you are on a budget, get the BH Cosmetics brand 120 palette. The quality is superior to the no name ebay one.

Leave a Reply

