Dark Phoenix Inspired Look! (Phoenix Series Pt .1)

This is also the gelaskin decal and wallpaper on my cell phone 😀

I was sent a pair of Violent Lips Red Glitterati lips from MakeupBee to review. The moment I saw them, I knew I was going to use them for a Dark Phoenix look! So this will not only be a look for Dark Phoenix, but will also be a review on the lips and the Laura Mercier mascara I was also given by MakeupBee. All other products used in this tutorial was purchased with money from my own pocket!

I also have been dying to use the little sample Sugarpill sent with one of my orders of Goldilux as it’s such a pretty gold with gold glitter and I thought it would be perfect to represent Dark Phoenix’s waist sash along with the Illamasqua Precision Ink! I hope you like!

*Disclaimer: No broccoli people were harmed in the making of this look. ;P

Closer view of the lips

Products Used:

Face:

Face Primer: Make Up For Ever HD Primer #2.

Foundation: MAC  Studio Fluid Foundation NC37

Blush: Tarte for True Blood Natural Cheek Stain.

Powder: Make Up Forever HD Powder.

Eyes:

Eyeshadow Primer: Urban Decay Primer Potion.

Eyeshadow Base (Lid and Lower Lashline): NYX Jumbo Pencil in Black Bean.

Lid Eyeshadow: Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow in Asylum.

Crease Eyeshadow: Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Love + with Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Flamepoint blended right above it.

Browbone: Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Buttercupcake.

Lower Lashline Eyeshadow: Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow in Asylum with Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow in Goldilux below it.

Outer Corner Eyeshadow: Sugarpill Loose Eyeshadow in Goldilux.

Eyeliner: Wet n Wild Cream Eyeliner in Black. Illamasqua’s Precision Ink in Alchemy drawn above it.

Waterline: NYX Jumbo Pencil in Black Bean with Tarte for True Blood Eyeshadow Palette Eyeshadow in Legend patted on top.

Mascara Upper Lashes: Laura Mercier Full Blown Volume Mascara in Black (Sample given to me via MakeupBee)

Mascara Lower Lashes: Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara in Black

False Lashes: Red Cherry # 47

Eyebrows: Anastasia Eyebrow Pencil in Dark Brown/Brunette with Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Love + on top.

Lips:

Violent Lips Lip Decal in Red Gliterrati.

Products Review:

Laura Mercier Full Blown Volume Mascara in Black:

Pro: I liked the formula and only used 2 coats. It did give my lashes some volume without leaving them clumpy.

Cons: Other than the end of the wand accumulating too much mascara, no cons to be had!

Violent Lips Red Glitterati Lip Decal:

Pro: They are fun and pretty and sparkly and would be great for an event or photo shoot. They give you 3 decals in a pack, so if you screw them up the first time, you can redo them. They  have some stretch to them so you don’t have to worry about cracking the design if you smile. They are very smooth to the touch and not grainy. They also let you know on the instructions that you can also go to their site to watch a video on how to put them on if that’s what you prefer than reading instructions.

Con: Trying to fit them was a pain for me. I’m not very adept at things like this, so I made the top lip too wide (You get 3 in a pack so next time I should nail it!) and it got on the wet part of my lip and kept sticking to the bottom lip and my tongue kept messing with it >.<. I also cut the bottom lip too far in so it didn’t reach the corners of my mouth (All errors on my part) My lips felt a little dry with them, and you can’t use gloss to fix it because it will destroy the decal. (READ the instructions if you buy them ladies! It’s VERY important that you do.) They also seemed to come up a bit around the edges even though my lips were dry and clean when I applied them. Basically, if you’re not one for decals and waiting and getting things perfect, then I wouldn’t recommend them. But if you have the patience and the steady hands, then you shouldn’t have a problem with them.

24 thoughts on “Dark Phoenix Inspired Look! (Phoenix Series Pt .1)”

  1. OH MY FUCKING JIMMINY CRICKET. I have no words to describe how in LOVE, no LUST I am with this look. I swear, I’m not just saying this because I love you, but you get better and better with each look. You continue to awe me with your works of art. I WANT TO FRAME THIS LOOK AND STARE AT IT FOREVER AND EVER ❤

    1. You are seriously awesome for saying this lol. Thank you SO much!! Omg you should have seen it in person..it was SO much better!! (It’s a shame we can’t get things to photograph exactly how they appear in person).

  2. Gorgeous! I love reds and golds together. 🙂 Also, those Violent Lips look really good! I don’t know if I could apply them nearly as well as you, but nevertheless – totally awesome. 😀

  3. Hey!

    I kinda reproduce your makeup with my own “style” so… Come and see! I hope you like it, again, you’re such an inspiration : make-up-of-tea.blogspot.com/2011/11/inspiration-phoenix.html Thanks!

  4. Omg! You do such an amazing job on your makeup!! The picture of you where you’re looking up at the camera was particularly eye-catching. From that angle, the yellow really looks like wings. I think this look is my favorite.

    1. I was actually going to ask what previous looks I’ve done people would like a tutorial on in a few weeks on a video 🙂 So it’s coming! Just be patient with me! (I have a busy life and full makeup schedule! :D)

Leave a Reply

