Elektra Inspired Look (Makeupbee/Lime Crime Collaboration)

I was contacted by Makeupbee,  I’m one of their past MakeupQueenBee’s, to do a collaboration with Lime Crime. Lime Crime in turn sent me 2 eyeshadows of my choice, a lipstick of my choice, and an eyeshadow primer. I was contacted by Lime Crime separately to try out all of their Carousel Lipglosses prior to being asked to do a collaboration with MakeupBee, so I will do a separate post on that later.

I have never used Lime Crime before and thought that this would be a good opportunity to test their product. My reviews on ANYTHING sent to me will always be based on my honest and truthful opinion. Good and bad. Regardless of rumors and gossip about ANY company, as long as their products aren’t tested on animals, I will try them out and form my own opinion as I think that’s a fair thing to do (for you as my readers, and for myself). I will not be addressing any gossip or rumor on my blog, as I feel it’s been done elsewhere in detail and I don’t feel the need to add to it. That’s not what my blog is about.

When I saw the loose eyeshadows in Diva and Siren, the first look that came to mind was Elektra! Her skin tone combined with her red ninja assassin outfit was the inspiration for this.

With that being said, here is my look and after are my thoughts on what I was sent for this look! 🙂

Enjoy!

Products Used:

Face:

Face Primer: Make Up For Ever HD Primer #2.

Foundation: MAC Matchmaster Foundation #4.

Blush: Smashbox Blush Soft Lights Duo AM/PM.

Powder: Make Up Forever HD Powder.

Eyes:

Eyeshadow Primer: Lime Crime Candy Eyed Eyeshadow Helper

Inner Lid Eyeshadow: Lime Crime Magic Dust Loose Eyeshadow in Diva.

Outer Corner Eyeshadow: Lime Crime Magic Dust Loose Eyeshadow in Siren.

Crease Eyeshadow: Lime Crime Magic Dust Loose Eyeshadow in Siren.

Browbone: theBalm Cast Your Shadow Muppet eyeshadow palette eyeshadow in Lab Coat with Wild Child layered on top.

Lower Lashline Eyeshadow: Lime Crime Magic Dust Loose Eyeshadow in Siren.

Eyeliner: Wet n Wild Cream Eyeliner in Black.

Waterline Eyeliner: Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner in Black.

Mascara Upper Lashes: Make Up For Ever Smoky Lash Mascara.

Mascara Lower Lashes: Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara in Black

Eyebrows: Anastasia Eyebrow Pencil in Brunette/Dark Brown.

Lips:

Lipliner: Sonia Kashuk Lip Definer in China Red.

Lipstick: Lime Crime Lipstick in Glamour 101.

The Review

2 Magic Dust Eyeshadows, 1 Candy Eyed Eyeshadow Helper (Primer), and 1 Lipstick
The opened products. The crack in the primer did not effect the product at all.
Close ups of the loose eyeshadows and the packaging.
Close up of the lipstick.

We’ll start with the loose eyeshadows.

Pros: Both shades were gorgeous and very shimmery. They are what I expect from a loose eyeshadow. I did like how they came with sifter’s  inside so you don’t have big accidents if you tip it over by mistake. You can also control how much product you use much better this way. They went on very smooth and were easy to blend. I really liked the loose eyeshadows.

Cons: Not enough product for the $14.00 price tag (2 grams). I hate to compare, but since Sugarpill is the only loose eyeshadows I own and use regularly, I have to say that for the amount of product you get from them (5 or 6 grams of product for 12.00), you should pay less for 2 grams of Lime Crime loose Eyeshadow. That would be my only con. Boost the amount of product or lower the price!

Next, the eyeshadow primer.

Primer test

Pros: Your eyeshadow will not budge after you put it on over this!! It makes eyeshadows SOOO vibrant and pigmented in comparison to Urban Decay Primer Potion or Two Faced Shadow Insurance. I believe this primer is also waterproof. This is definitely going to be a go to product for me. I’m very impressed! Just have to make sure to apply it evenly on both eyes. As I write this, I noticed I have some creasing on the left eye, probably due to me not putting enough primer evenly in that spot. The other eye looks great (I usually do my right eye first). You get 7 grams of product which is awesome. It’s also very soft and easy to blend onto the eye. You must remove it with a waterproof makeup remover. I would definitely use this for occasions where you have to wear makeup for hours upon hours.

Cons: It dries very quickly which means you have to put more work into blending. It’s best to apply your eyeshadow quickly before it dries and sets. Also, make sure to close the cap all the way until it clicks. I didn’t realize this at first and had some jiggling with the cap and was worried I had a faulty container. I just needed to turn it more until it snapped.

And finally, the lipstick

Pros: It has a nice vanilla smell that is similar, but not quite the same as MAC’s (it’s also tasteless). It’s very pigmented and it didn’t take many swipes of it to get full coverage on my lips which makes me happy because I feel like I save product that way. It’s a GORGEOUS shade of red, that has a bit of brown in it. I can definitely say I’ll be using this lipstick a lot. Because it’s a warmer red, I think it would look good on a wide range of skin tones. It’s also very moisturizing. I like this lipstick. 🙂

Cons: None that I can say at the moment. I’ve been wearing it for a few hours now and it’s still on my lips and my lips are still moisturized.

Packaging thoughts:

1. It’s cute and whimsical. I can see little girls(or little boys) really wanting something like this because it’s almost toy like in appearance. I can also see gals and guys who are really into cute Japanese things liking this a lot.

2. The packaging doesn’t bother me, as I’m a total geek and I like things that are different and fun. I can see some people who are a little more conservative having an issue with the packaging, but like I said, I don’t mind it at all.

Overall, its sturdy materials, they close very well, I feel my product will last in them so the packaging is fine with me.

Thank you Makeupbee and Lime Crime for allowing me to try out the products!

12 thoughts on “Elektra Inspired Look (Makeupbee/Lime Crime Collaboration)”

  1. OMFG the look you created is total eye candy. You’re such a babe, and hardly anyone can pull off red shadow. It makes your eyes GLOW and it’s stunning with your skin tone. I WANNA DO YOU! LOLOL.

    Very nicely written review as well! I freakin’ love Lime Crime’s packaging. I love anything fun, and whimsical.

    1. LOL!! Your comments always crack me up!! (I wanna doooo youuuuu!!) hahaha. If it came from anyone else I’d be freaked out haha!! ❤

      Thank you so much again Ronnie! 🙂

  2. Holy amaze-balls this is amazing and I love you!

    I also love that you went with inspiration from her outfit, which is an integral part of the story, and not just a copy of the makeup she wears regularly! So cool 🙂

    1. Thank you!

      I tend to usually pull from characters costumes and powers or personality (usually a combination of all 3) but for my non powered heroines/heroes/villains/villainess’ I tend to pull from skin tone, costume, and personality.

      I don’t really ever do looks based on a characters make up because most artist do the same big eyelash look on everyone and they don’t focus on makeup. My blog would be a lot more boring if I did that lol

Leave a Reply

