1000 Follower Giveaway!

1000 Followers!! Whoo Hoo!!

Hey True Believers!

So I’ve finally managed to get to 1000 followers on my Facebook page (which is how I judge how many people are following me since the blog subscriber count is a little weird and not a good way to see how many people are actually paying attention out there πŸ˜‰ )

With that being said, I wanted to do a really special giveaway for you all! I’m doing this not to gain more followers (though that would be cool :P) but to THANK ALL OF YOU for the continued support you’ve given me since I started this blog a year ago. I really wanted to give you guys something cool for being the most amazing followers ever.Β 

As you can guess, I’m a huge advocate of reading. I love to read and I read like crazy. I love books and collect them because one day I plan on having a library in my house :D. But with the internet, people have become more and more lazy and most don’t read like they should or they don’t pay attention as much because of all the videos and pictures and what not. Reading comprehension is also something I’ve noticed is lacking more and more. It’s part of the reason why I haven’t done any YouTube videos, because I want people to READ more! Reading is fundamental! πŸ˜€

So in this giveaway, I’ve included 5 trade paperbacks (for those of you unfamiliar with that term, they are collected editions of a comic book story line that come out after all the individual comic book issues for that story line have come out), all of which are X-Team related because they are my favorite characters. I went down to my local comic ship and picked out each one of these myself and wanted to give you all amazing stories that fostered my love for comic books and the X-Men and subsequent teams. They are all from the 70s and 80s because that was such a great time in X-Men comics! I would have loved to include the trade paperbacks of the stories from the early 90s (Like X-Cutioner’s Song, Fatal Attractions, Bloodties, and X-tinction Agenda) but my comic shop was all out >.< (And that was MY era (such an amazing era!) when I started reading comics and totally fell in love). I’m hoping that whoever wins keeps the books and reads them and loves them just as much as I do. They really are a huge part of who I am and I hope it helps you understand me better! Books mean SO much to me (can you tell?!) so ideally I hope that you guys are entering because you WANT the books and will USE the makeup!Β 

I’ve also included 2 Sugarpill Cosmetics Eyeshadow Palettes as they are staples for me and my go to eyeshadows for a huge chunk of my looks. They’re also one of my favorite cosmetic brands.Β 

I will be using Rafflecopter to host this giveaway because it’s MUCH easier than doing it by hand. Rafflecopter isn’t supported by WordPress.com blogs (javascript doesn’t work here), so the giveaway app will be on my Facebook page under the 1000 Follower Giveaway tab (Which can be found here). Β There you can see which 5 trade paperbacks I picked out and the names of the 2 eyeshadow palettes.Β This giveaway starts 12am EST Friday, May 18th 2012 and ends 12am EST Friday, June 1st 2012. The rules are on the form so please make sure to read them!

Good luck everyone and thank you so much again from the bottom of my heart!

-Siryn

PS.Β I also want to mention that those of you saying you did the blog post on your own blog about the giveaway on the entry form, I need to have you provide a link to it on the entry form. If I don’t see one, I will be removing that particular entry (as that’s cheating to say you did it and you didn’t). I’m checking them/the links to make sure people aren’t cheating to gain extra entries! πŸ˜‰

PPS.Β It looks like some of you are confused on the leaving a comment on MY blog about what your favorite character is etc. You MUST comment on my blog and leave a link to your comment on the entry form. Some of you are leaving your answer on the form, when I’d like it on the actual blog post about the giveaway (which is why I provide the link to the blog post). If you made this error, please go leave your comment on the blog post. Thanks!! (i know these things can be confusing sometimes, but I try to be as clear as possible to help you out!)

121 thoughts on “1000 Follower Giveaway!”

  1. My favorite comic character is Roxy (Freefall) from the Gen13 series. I would love to win the ENTIRE thing.. haha.. Id really like the SP pallettes because I just can’t afford to buy them myself. I think they’d be a wonderful addition to my mu stash.. Thanks so much! Congrats on your followers and keep doing the AWESOME things you do! πŸ˜€

  2. Hi, congrats on 1000, I’m impressed! πŸ™‚
    Thank you for amazing giveaway, I’d love to try Sugarpill eyeshadow palette. I’ve been lemming that beauty for so long..

  3. i’m most excited about the Dark Phoenix Saga books, i’ve always wanted to soak up info on Jean Grey’s alter-ego. i’m not as knowledgeable about the X-Men as i wish i was. 😦 i’m also excited about the Sugarpill palettes, i love the colors you use in your looks. they’re not terribly expensive, but i can’t afford so much $$ on one little palette. i always loved the Dark Phoenix character and Rogue, i used to watch the cartoon when i was little. they’re my faves. πŸ˜€

  4. Congratulations! I love your tutorials so much!

    My favorite comic character has to be Nightwing from DC. Although I’m fairly in love with Gambit from Marvel as well as Deadpool…oh good lord there are too many to name!!

    I’m super excited about the Suger Pill Palettes as we can’t get them here in Singapore, which is where I’m from. =(

  5. Hello!

    I think I’ve done everything right!
    You know I follow your blog, and so on! Thank you so much for your amazingness! :p Your talent is priceless and I enjoy every post you do!
    Hope You remember me!
    I subscribe on facebook with my name and not my pseudo : Makeup of Tea. So you can find me, my name is Leila C.

    I’m currently readind Civil War tomes by the way! ❀

  6. Gambit, the Ragin’ Cajun is my favorite character though that’s from the animation series. I’d love to win the tradebooks. Well and the sugarpill palettes too. :O)
    I just bought my first tradebook Uncanny X-Men Vol. 1. Can’t wait to add to my collection!

  7. I would love to have any of the SP palettes. My favourite comic book character of all time has to be Kabuki from the Kabukli Series by David Mack. Such a great series if you haven’t already read them.

    I love this blog because it’s so cool to see a fellow comic nerd with makeup skills πŸ™‚

  8. i’m most excited about the Dark Phoenix Saga books!
    i’m also excited about the Sugarpill palettes, i really love your looks and the colors look amazing.
    My favorite character of X-Men has allways been Rogue ^^
    I’ve been folowwing your blog through Google reader for a while now and I was so amazed you do comic character’s inspired looks! It’s something that you don’t see a lot.

  9. Congratulations!! Your looks are amazing and I get excited every time I see a new blog post from you! πŸ™‚

  10. Congratulations on 1000 followers!!! ok so my favorite character is Storm from X-Men. I can help myself. I’ve always liked Storm.

  11. Congratulations! Your looks are so inspiring (my favourite is Alucard). I follow you on good reader, but I just started using bloglovin so I added you on there as well.

  12. Congratulations again!!! Thank you for having this giveaway for us πŸ™‚ I am most excited about the Sugarpill palettes and The Dark Phoenix Saga. That whole part of the cartoon was one of my favorites!!

    1. My most favorite characters (I had a few) are X-Men: Jubilee, Gambit, and Rogue. Since Anita Blake was made in to a comic, her, Jean-Claude and Jason πŸ™‚ Forgot to add these to my original comment…

      1. Girl, yes. Anita Blake is one of my FAVORITE series! I love Laurell K. Hamilton’s work! Have you read her Merry Gentry series too? That’s also another favorite of mine!

  13. Oh. My. Tennant. This is probably the best giveaway I’ve ever seen on any blog. Ever. I’ve been hunting for the perfect orange, and no one nailed it like Sugarpill. And the paperbacks in addition to that… And X-Team paperbacks to boot!?

    1. Ah crap, I got too excited and didn’t even answer the question about characters… Within the X-Men universe, it’s easily Nightcrawler. I can’t help it, it’s a German thing.

  14. Favorite character? Emma Frost. Hands down. Powerful, sexy, and okay with doing the moral grey.
    Most excited about? Sugarpill palettes. I’ve wanted these for my own personal use but have yet to be able set aside makeup money for myself v. my kit.
    What will I do with the prizes? Read them, use them, and if I could without damaging them, roll around in them.

    1. I’m having the same issue with makeup for myself vs. my kit. I figured, I should buy for myself first, test things out, and if I like, THEN I’ll get back up for my kit. πŸ™‚

  15. I’ve always been in awe of Storm, ever since I got my hands on an X-Men comic for the first time πŸ™‚ As for the fave prize: The Drak Phoenix Saga! Such an epic storyline… and what I’d do with it? Retreat into my reading corner and not face any human being until I’ve made my way through it πŸ™‚

  16. My favorite is Rogue – tough girl with issues. I’d love to win the comic books. I’m part of a meetup group that has a comic book club so I need to join in!

  17. Congrats on hitting this big milestone!

    My favorite comic book character is Batman. My boyfriend is a Superman freak, so we have an on going argument (12 years and running lol) about who is better. I just think it’s unfair to give one guy ALL the powers.. pfft!

    I’m really excited about this whole prize package.. I’ve never entered a give away that offered comic books before! I’m definitely going to get first crack at them before (possibly) sharing them with my BF ;p I’ve never tried Sugarpill so I’m pretty stoked about that too!

    I think, in as a tribute to you, I would try to create a look using the Sugarpill products that was inspired by something in one of the comic books included in the prize πŸ˜‰

    I’m a constant lurker but I never comment, but want to thank you for offering this to your followers! πŸ˜‰

    1. Thanks!
      LOL yeah which is why DC had to retcon him at some point(s). He was basically a god. >.<

      Love that you said "possibly" sharing them with your boyfriend! *virtual high five!*

      Aww! Well if you win, I would love to see that look!

      You're welcome! I figure I might have a LOT of lurkers lol.

  18. Gambit is my all time X-Men fave… Or Emma… Or Rogue… Or or or 8D

    I love seeing your looks and I really wish I could replicate them (I’m a little spazzy with makeup for sure) but you never know!

    Congrats on all the followers, you deserve it ^_^

    Rae x

  19. My favourite comic book character is Harley Quinn from Gotham City Sirens. Eeep I can’t really chose something I’m most excited about, I’d love to get any of it! If I had to chose though possibly the Sugar Pill Sweet Heart Palette. I’ll read the comics whilst wearing the Sugar Pill Eyeshadow if I win!

  20. My favorite is Pheonix! I love her fiery hair! I’m more excited for the Sugar Pill palette. I have been DYING to try sugar pill but I’m a broke law school student and haven’t been able to justify the expense. =( My plan for the prizes is to enjoy them to the fullest!

  21. This is a great giveaway girl!!! I doubt I will win but I think it’s awesome that you are doing it πŸ™‚ I cannot choose a character from xmen cause I love them all… xx

  22. Gosh, please, yes, THANK YOU!!! Can’t believe you are actually giving comics away!!! More people should do it – I LLLOOOVVVEEE THEM! And X-Men? Awesome! πŸ˜€ Thank you, really. πŸ™‚

  23. I would use the makeup for my costuming endeavors! I’m mostly a newbie to awesome makeup, so something like the palettes would be very welcome!

  24. My favorite comic book character was always Gambit! I had such a crush on him. Haha honestly, I’m excited to win any of the prizes! I would love to read the paperbacks, and I have been dying to try sugarpill. This is truly an exciting giveaway! Congrats and thank you!

  25. Congratulations on your followers!! My favorite XMen characters have always been Mystique and Nightcrawler! Kurt is such a cutie!

    1. I’m excited for the paperbacks, I’m out of books to read! I like the idea of playing with the Sugarpill shadows, but mostly, I’m in it for the paperbacks!! I’m on a pinup kick lately, so I don’t use a whole lot of OMGCOLORS, haha.

      1. Well the cool thing about the makeup, is that you can apply it lightly by not getting so much on your brush. So you can do a very light wash of color. And there’s a white in there, which would be great for highlighting on a pinup look πŸ˜‰

  26. This is an awesome giveaway and I would love to win everything! Thank you for giving me the opportunity.

    I’ve always loved Nightcrawler. I would love to have his powers.

  27. You KNOW which character is my favorite! I’m pretty excited of the array of TPBs you’re giving away. I’ve only been able to read them in digital copy and could never find the whole arc in single issues. It would be super to be able to read these in print! I’m such a sucker for having an actual book in my hand rather than digital. Keep up the stellar work, and thanks for your generosity with this giveaway! ❀

  28. Grats on 1000!!

    I have a number of favourite characters, but I am an X-Geek first and foremost and my big five are: Psylocke, Nightcrawler, Angel, Iceman and X-23 (cause for such a cheesy character concept, she is utterly amazing!!)

    I have to say, the trades you picked out are amazing choices. Anyone who wins will be very lucky indeed!!

    Here’s to 1000 more followers ❀

  29. Hi! My favorite comic character is Storm, cause I just love her and what she’s able to do.
    I’m most ecited about the Sugarpill Palettes beacause I’ve heard so many good things abaout them and want to try them out.
    And, I think I would immediately try the palettes if I would win to create a great look.

    ❀

  30. Elektra is my favorite; I never liked her costume much but her character is just as angry as I was as a kid. She didn’t really need super powers to kick ass, either.
    I am torn between the prizes! The last Marvel trade paperback collection I bought was House of M, which ended in the 198…which is where I turned off. And I haven’t tried Sugarpill yet (I know, bad girl) but I really want to. They seem super pigmented and amazing. I’d totally use the prizes, two shelves of my huge bookshelf are devoted to comics and I love makeup.

  31. i’m still a book worm and i love comic books. My favorite comic book character is Iron Man.
    I love the costume, the tricks and action in it ! it’s so nice. Even the movie was great and incorporating him in the Avengers made it to a new level of LIKE-ing with me.

    I’m rather excited about the Sugarpill palettes !! i am a huge fan of your work and i’m from Egypt. i would love to start my makeup career and i do not live in the US to buy them plus international shipping can be a disaster especially to third world countries !! I am going to the USA in June and if i did not win this i WILL be planning on buying their palettes for the colors are amazing and highly pigmented. I’ve seen lots of work using then and i know how hard it can be to produce a proper tone of pigment to work on dark skin. light colors either appear so faint or lose their glow after a while on dark skin tones. That is why i see Sugarpill as a must have for any makeup artist. I’m fascinated by your work using it you’re the reason i knew about it πŸ™‚

  32. My favorite character is Rogue..im having a brainfart lol, but anyways I will wear the SugarPill Cosmetics palettes..I will rock them out like theres no tomorrow..and I just adore your skills chica! GO SIRYN!! πŸ˜€

  33. I think you’re even more awesome now that I know you’re a book-hoarder like myself! Comic-wise, even though I really like the X-Men – especially Wolverine and Nightcrawler – and Deadpool, my heart is with Neil Gaiman’s Morpheus/Sandman. The Endless are so fascinating!

  34. SOOOOOOOO happy for you in reaching 1000 followers (and then some)! I’ve told you time and again that your make-up work is fantastic, and I still stand by that!

    I too am a believer in reading. My bookcase is FULL of Star Wars, Star Trek, Warcraft, StarCraft and Diablo novels/comics. Only recently have I started to expand into DC and Marvel comics!

    The first comic book character I ever fell in love with was Catwoman. I think it was due to my love of cats, and how she was neither a good guy, nor bad. I liked how she was in that gray area.

    As for what I’m most excited to win: comics! I really want to expand on my collection! There’s just something to be said about holding a physical book and reading. ^_^

    As for what I’ll do with the prizes? Why, read/use them, of course! The Sugarpill make-up would be saved for special occasions and cosplay! I want to savor them for as long as possible!

    Again, grats on the major milestone!!! You deserve it! ❀

  35. This is so neat! My favorite comic book character is a tie between psylocke and raven. I am soooooooooooooooo excited for the X-Men comics it would be soo cool to have those, I used to have a few of them but my old room mate took lots of my comics saying they were his -.- with the prizes I would give the makeup to a friend of mine because i have enough πŸ˜„

    I am crazy happy for you that you made 1000 subscribers! That is amazing!

    Keep up with the awesome make up looks!

  36. Thanks for this giveaway, it sounds super exciting! I’d love to read the Xmen comics – I’m a Spidey girl, but want to get into more of the Marvelverse πŸ˜€

  37. Hey Siryn!! What a fantastic giveaway! Whoever wins is gonna be one lucky gal! My favorite comic character is actually Rogue (yeah,yeah, original huh?) but I can’t forget the amazing lines made my apocalypse in the cartoon series, lol, if you’re unsure what I mean, try looking for X-men apocalypse on YouTube!! “evil? I am not malevolent! I simply AM!!” such a great giveaway, I love sugarpill! My fav eyeshadow is Poison Plum, I love seeing your looks with Sugarpill too πŸ™‚ Would love to read the books too!!!

  38. I’ve been in love with the X-men series for as long as i can remember. I;m most excited to in all the sugar pill products and if i win them i’m excited to finally be able to test them for myself.

  39. Hey Siryn! Congrats on the 1k! πŸ˜€
    I’m super excited about these prizes, the X-Men series have always been my favorite! I don’t know why, but I always liked Gambit; I remember when I was little and I had the X-men game for the Sega I think it was, I ALWAYS chose him xD I can just picture these in my shelves, haha.
    And the makeup is really exciting, too! Sugarpill is also one of my favorite brands and I’ve been trying to build up a pro kit, but it’s not so easy to do on a college student budget πŸ˜›
    Anyway, keep up your AWESOME job, your looks are some of my absolute favorites, a true artist β™₯

  40. Hi Siryn!!!!!!! Congrats on having 1000 followers, you are doing an amazing job! I love the colors that you use and you seem super awesome at blending πŸ™‚ You’ve inspired me to be a lot more creative with colors and be more daring to try new things!! Keep up the good work πŸ˜€

  41. Congrats on the followers… I wish my blog was as good as yours, hehe but I’m just a noob.
    Id say favorite characters are tough… Though I’ve always had a love for Jubilee, as lame as people may claim her. I love her.
    This is an awesome giveaway, I’ve got my fingers crossed.
    Btw speakin of Jubilee, id like to see a makeup tut. Incase u haven’t done it yet. πŸ™‚

  42. I’m constantly changing favorite comic characters as I discover them, but right now it’s a toss up between Sinestro and Magdalena. Sinestro: I’ve always loved villains and found them to be more fascinating than heroes (imo), and Sinestro is just tops. He started with good intentions and still whole-heartedly believes what he’s doing is right, but it’s just so wrong. And Magdalena (Patience) because she can kick all kinds of ass yet still hold firm to her beliefs (even though I’m as far removed from a Christian as you can get xD). Plus, she’s starting to think for herself about her place in the Church and what her handlers are really up to and she doesn’t like it. I really love them both for their own principles and can’t quite choose between them (yet). Wow, I used an awful lot of parentheses xD

    I’m most excited about the comics because I’m still discovering new and old stories. I’m a comic noob so something from such a revolutionary age in the industry would be most helpful xD And besides, I’ve already got both palettes, so….yeah. Comics all the way, baby!

    What would I do with the prizes? Read them, of course! Over and over again! And then break out the palettes and start drawing all over my face.

  43. As far as comic books go I would have to say my longtime love affair has always be with Dawn. LOVE! A more recent favorite has to be Bigby from the Fables series. All the prizes are friggen awesome so it’s hard to choose. Which addiction to feed? Reading or being girly with some makeup…hmmm. Both please! Do makeup and then curl up and read comics! A girl has to look awesome while doing something so deliciously nerdy!

    1. I have the Dawn books! I like them too! (Curvaceous and a red head = win/win situation!)

      I’ve been meaning to pick up some Fables trades! I need to read those! (So surprised I haven’t yet!)

      And I agree!

  44. I’ve always been intrigued by the universes created in comics and eagerly devoured the games, movies, tv shows, toys, etc but am ashamed to admit I’ve never been into comic books themselves. I think it’s because I would read them too quickly! I LOVE to read and I read quickly so for me the longer the book, the better, haha. Which may be why The Stand is my favorite Stephen King book.

    If I win the books will get a place of honor on my bookshelf and I hope to start a collection. i like the idea of the trade paperbacks. And Sugarpill… oh gosh. It’s been on my lemming list for a few years now and I still haven’t tried it. So I plan to smear the books on my face and read the eyeshadows. Wait…

  45. Congrats on 1000 followers! I have been subscribed to your blog for quite awhile now and always love your looks. :0) I don’t really read comic books though, so it is hard to pick a favourite character… How about Batgirl? (I have her on a t-shirt!) I also like Iron Man, Batman, Spiderman… I am most excited for the Sugarpill palettes because I’ve been wanting to try them for ages! They look SO gorgeous!! If I won, I would probably give the comics to my boyfriend and keep the makeup for myself.

  46. Congrats on the followers! I love the makeup you do because it’s SO GOOD; even without understanding the comic lore behind it I can enjoy it.

    Favorite comic book character: depends on what you’re looking at. My favorite character in any comic is Hanna from Hanna Is Not A Boy’s Name, which is both a (defunct) webcomic and a comic book from a small publisher. My favorite from a larger, more popular comic series would be Fone Bone from Jeff Smith’s Bone.

  47. My favorite character is Gambit no doubt! xD
    I’ll share it with my mum and my lil brother! πŸ˜€

  48. I’d have to say my fave character is Nny from Johnny the Homicidal Maniac by Jhonen Vasquez. I love that man’s twisted mind. Thank you for this contest, those prizes are amazing! I love reading and find it wonderful that you are pushing for more of us to read! ^.^
    I’d read those books over and over, I love xmen.
    But of course, I’ve been coveting those palettes for a while. Ooo… good give away!
    Cheers,
    Salsa

  49. How have I not heard of you sooner?! I’m going through and falling in love with all of these looks! Gorgeous and inspiring! My favorite character has always and will always be Storm! She has always been my biggest inspiration. I’ll read those books until they fall apart, that really was the best time for the X-men!

  50. I have always loved reading, and before I could read: listening to, stories and books of any kind. However as I grew up in the Netherlands “comics” were sparse, all we had that you know too is Donald Duck! haha… (cry)
    So I would be excited to win both the comics and the eyeshadow palettes, those are once again not something for sale in your average stores here. I am forced to order nice clothes and makeup online from the UK!
    Your looks are really amazing, so if I were to win these prizes I would try and create my own look (inspired by the comics, like you do) ^ ^
    Thanks for doing a giveaway to inspire and help your followers to become more epic!

  51. My favorite comic book character is def Barbra Gordon. I loved how she was still so strong when is was put in her wheelchair. My mom has some diseases that have use a wheelchair when we’re out but she’s such a strong amazing woman, I don’t care. I always call her Batgirl ahaha. With the eyeshadows, I will continue to raise the bar for myself. I’m already applying to beauty school so I hope I can be number 1 in class when it comes to make up haha.

  52. Ahhh. Storm has been my favorite comic book character since I was young. ^^

    I’m most excited for the Burning Heart Palette but kind of moreso for the comics! My fiance and I are total nerds, it would be nice to have something to share with him if I won. :3

  53. Congrats to 1000 Followers, you really deserve it.
    My fav. Comic Character is HULK. I just love the fact that he is practicly unbeatable. But also the struggles that Bruce Banner has with him. He can be so interesting and I’m glad that there is bunch of new comics about him coming out and also the long time series that continues. It is just so interesting.

    But there are also a lot of other characters that are interesting and that I would have loved to pick, but that was really hard πŸ™‚

    Back to enjoy the Avengers vs. X-Men comics again ^_^

  54. My favourite character is Ghost Rider. I love the demonic fire and shiny metal bike. Nothing is cooler than a flaming skull and I’m a huge fan of leather and studs.

    Ooh, the sweetheart palette is something I’ve had my eyes on for quite a while and would love to own it!

    I will place the sugarpill palettes next to my modest but a growing collection of sugarpill cosmetics that I dearly love. I will definitely start incorporating the bright pink and the matte white into some books as soon as I get my hands on them.

  55. my fav character is catwoman πŸ™‚ and i am most excited about eyeshadow palettes, because it would be nice to try different looks, to try something different

  56. Huge congratulations on 1000 followers!! That’s such an amazing achievement!!! πŸ™‚
    Now…onto my answers…
    My favourite character…that’s a hard one. I can’t go past Superman! I’ve always wanted the Man Of Steel to sweep me off my feet πŸ˜› But I’ve sorta fallen in love with Hawkeye since watching The Avengers…maybe because of Jeremy Renner πŸ˜€
    Although I’m pretty excited about the trade paperbacks, because I’ve never owned any comics in my life (I know…sad, but unfortunately true), I’m more excited about the Sugarpill palettes, because I don’t own any and I’ve heard so many good things about their eye shadows…plus they look amazing as part of your looks!!! πŸ™‚
    What will I do with the prizes? The Sugarpill palettes will be lovingly used in as many looks as I can think of…and the paperbacks will be read many many times by yours truly, and have a special spot on my bookshelf πŸ™‚

  57. I always wanted to be Storm or Phoenix. I remember I had the comic where Scott dreamed he melted Jean at their wedding. That was a loooooooong time ago. I remember seeing Dark Phoenix for the first time and just being in AWE! I’m also a Wonder Woman girl. And I squealed with delight when I saw your Hellcat look. I remember quite liking her when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

