Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Review!

Hey True Believers!

A few months ago a lovely representative at Makeup Geek contacted me about trying out their new eyeshadows and also testing out their new gallery on their site. She asked me to choose 12 eyeshadows, which was hard since there were so many to choose from, but I managed to pick out the 12 I wanted to test drive the most. When they arrived, they had sent pans, which I wasn’t expecting, so I had to order a Book of Shadows palette from Another Soul so I had a way to store them. The cool thing about the pans is that not only are they easier to store once you get a palette for them, but they have the names of the shadows underneath each one.

On to the review!

*All products were sent to me courtesy of Makeup Geek. I was not paid to do this review.

(This is a pic heavy post!)

These shadows have been a complete surprise to me. In the pan I was like “meh” and then I swatched them….OH MY GOSH! They are GORGEOUS!! Do not let the pan fool you into thinking they are lack luster shadows! I also found that they really perform best over a good primer, as you will see in the swatch photos. So those of you who are anti using an eyeshadow primer, you will not get the full performance out of these without one. Also, I didn’t have time to fully test drive them out and see how long they wear, so this review is based on my first impressions while swatching. 

Makeup Geek Eyeshadows are $5.99 for a pan and $7.99 in a compact.

About Makeup Geek Eyeshadows
– These are all highly-pigmented – just check out the swatches!
– Half the price of MAC shadows without sacrificing quality
– These pans can be placed in empty palettes such as MAC Pro Palettes or Z-Palettes
– Eyeshadow pan weight is 1.8G / 0.064 oz
– With a separate palette, you can build your own custom palettes
– All Makeup Geek eyeshadows are cruelty-free — we do not test our products on animals
– All Makeup Geek eyeshadows are Talc & Paraben-Free except Manderine and Fuji

Ingredients:
Mica, Isoeicosane, Polyisobutene

May Contain: 
Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Oron Nitride, Kaolin, Polyethylene, Ptfe, Nylon-12, Magnesium, Stearate, Zinc Oxide, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Lauroyl Lysine, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Methicone, Dimethicone, Iron Oxides Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499, Chromium Hydroxide Green Ci 77289, Ultramarines Ci 77007, Titanium Dioxide Ci 77891, Bismuth Oxychloride Ci 77163, Manganese Violet Ci 77742dc Black No. 2 Ci 77266, C13-16 Isoparaffin, C12-C14 Isoparaffin, C13-C15 Alkane, Carmine Ci 75470, Chromium Oxide Greens Ci 77288, Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide Ci 77510, Ferric Ferrocyanide Ci 77510, Blue 1 Lake Ci 42090, Yellow 5 Lake Ci 19140, Red 6 Lake Ci 15850, Tin Oxid

MUG Eyeshadow in Gold Digger

MUG Eyeshadow in Gold Digger
(L-R No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: This eye shadow is a great shimmery gold color, and it’s perfect to go out and have a little fund 😉 True metallic gold.

My Thoughts: Metallic gold. This wasn’t as opaque/full coverage as I would have liked it to be. I had to layer it a few times to get it to show up the way it did over the primer. That being said, it’s definitely a buildable eyeshadow. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Glamorous

MUG Eyeshadow in Glamorous
(L-R No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: 
Limousines and diamond rings, shoppin’ for expensive things. That’s what Fergie says is glamorous… I say wear this bronzy gold shadow instead- it’s cheaper than a limo, but just as nice. Shimmery bronze gold.

My Thoughts: Shimmery Copper. This shadow was much easier to get a nice, opaque application. Swatched very smooth and I could even see this being used as a highlight on medium to dark skin tones. It also showed up pretty decent without a primer. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Razzleberry

MUG Eyeshadow in Razzleberry
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: This is just as fun to wear as it is to say. I dare you to say Razzleberry three times in a row really fast- come on, you know you want to…Raspberry Pink with Gold Glitter.

My Thoughts: Raspberry Pink/Red with Gold Glitter. This is one of my favorite eyeshadows of the bunch. Applied opaque and the gold glitter stayed, which got a big thumbs up from me. I can’t wait to do a look with this eyeshadow! It’s very evident that you need a primer to get the full effect and most opaque application with this eyeshadow. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Sensuous

MUG Eyeshadow in Sensuous
(L-R, No Primer, WIth Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: Since we try to keep Makeup Geek family-friendly, it’s a challenge to describe this shadow adequately. So we’ll just leave you with this: If you want a sultry and sexy look, this sparkly plum shadow is the perfect start. Shimmery Purple with Flecks of Silver.

My Thoughts: Shimmery Deep Plum with Golden Shifts (Honestly this one is hard to describe color wise. It’s much more complex than they describe). This is another one of my favorite shadows that I received. It’s just GORGEOUS! I don’t believe in wearing certain colors for certain times of year, but I will say that this one would be so beautiful to wear during the fall/autumn (my favorite season!). It reminds me of autumn leaves. It was very pigmented and smooth. It definitely loves to be over a primer. This paired with Glamorous would be stunning!

MUG Eyeshadow in Pixie Dust

MUG Eyeshadow in Pixie Dust
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: It took us a long time to catch enough fairies to create this eyeshadow! We had to prance through the magical forest, use our state of the art fairy finder, and bring back the pixie dust to the Makeup Geek factory to add the perfect amount of shimmer to this bright green shadow.   
(NOTE:  No fairies were harmed in the making of this eyeshadow!) Shimmery Lime green.

My Description: Metallic Acid Green. This one REALLY surprised me! I would have never expected it to be as metallic as it was. Went on very smooth and pigmented. Really hugged the primer.

MUG Eyeshadow in Shimmermint

MUG Eyeshadow in Shimmermint
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: Don’t be confused by the name… this eyeshadow is not to be used to cover up your bad breath. However, this minty green shadow is a great way to freshen up your makeup 😉 Metallic Mint Green With Gold Shimmer.

My Description: Metallic Mint Green with a light gold shimmer. Very stunning, and pigmented. It pretty much hugged the primer and I had an opaque application. I’m not one for mint greens, but this is one I’d wear.

MUG Eyeshadow in Appletini

MUG Eyeshadow in Appletini
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer. Angled to see the green better)

Makeup Geek’s Description:
Looking for a fun night? Try this recipe: three parts vodka, one part Sour Apple Pucker Schnapps, and one part eye shadow pan. Stir with MUG eye shader brush…and vuala!! At least with this Appletini, you won’t have to worry about getting tipsy! Shimmery Apple green with flecks of gold.

My Description: Apple Green with a Gold shift. This was also a very pretty eyeshadow. The gold shift was overpowering the green undertone when the flash went off, so I had to get an angled shot in order for the color to show the way it does w/o the flash. Had to layer it a few times over the primer to get it to show as opaque as I wanted it to. Pigmentation is okay, another buildable shadow. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Poison Ivy

MUG Eyeshadow in Poison Ivy
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description:
A femme fatale that seduces her enemies by planting a kiss and making them obey her every demand. Poison Ivy may be one of Batman’s greatest enemies, but she looks amazing in this shimmery green shadow. Shimmery medium green.

My Thoughts: Shimmery Olive Green. I picked this one for the obvious reasons (Hello, comic book makeup blog! 😉 ) And so it was awesome to see that MUG also named it after Ms. Pamela Isley a.k.a. Poison Ivy. Anyway, I wasn’t totally thrilled with this color. It’s okay, I can see it being used for some type of neutral eye makeup, which is something I rarely do, but for those of you who love your neutrals, this would be a good addition. It’s a buildable shade and not as pigmented or opaque.

MUG Eyeshadow in Envy

MUG Eyeshadow in Envy
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: Thou shalt not be filled with jealousy or spite, but it’s ok to make all your friends envious by wearing this gorgeous deep green shadow. Deep metallic green.

My Thoughts: Peacock Green shimmer over a black base. One of my top 3 favorites! It’s probably #1 or #2 actually. It’s very pigmented, and I would probably pat it on so the green doesn’t get lost. I think swiping this too much may result in more black than green. Definitely requires a good primer to help it stay deep and shimmery.

MUG Eyeshadow in Mermaid

MUG Eyeshadow in Mermaid
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer. Angled to get more of the color shift to show.)

Makeup Geek’s Description:
“Look at this shadow, isn’t it neat? I don’t think your collections complete, until you’re the girl, the girl who’s got every MUG shadow!”….Ok so those aren’t the exact words to Ariel’s song, but I really think you should own every Makeup Geek shadow…especially this shimmery ocean green color! Metallic teal with reflects gold.

My Thoughts: Metallic Ocean Blue with Gold Sheen. A beautiful color, perfect for a mermaid look. It occasionally flashed sea green at me, which you can kind of see in the pics (may be the combination of the gold and the ocean blue playing tricks on th eye), and of course the camera didn’t pick it up as well. It’s a beautiful eyeshadow that is very pigmented. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Ocean Breeze

MUG Eyeshadow in Ocean Breeze
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description:
There’s nothing quite like staring into the deep blue green of the ocean while having the wind blow through your hair. We did our best to capture the essence of the ocean with a deep, shimmer shadow that is just the right blend of blue and green. Metallic deep blue.

My Description: Metallic Teal Blue over a black base. This was either my #1 favorite or my #2 (It’s competing with Envy). Super pigmented over a primer and overall a shade with a lot of depth. The metallic was so strong, that swiping it didn’t reveal the black base. 

MUG Eyeshadow in Corrupt

MUG Eyeshadow in Corrupt
(L-R, No Primer, With Primer)

Makeup Geek’s Description: It’s dark, evil, poisonous, and vile. Actually, it’s just an intensely pigmented black eyeshadow. You will have a hard time finding such a deep, dark shadow – especially at this price. Intense matte black with a very subtle sparkle.

My Description: Matte Black with slight sparkle. Pretty decent black eyeshadow over a primer. One swipe and it’s super pigmented. The sparkle is very subtle so those of you who aren’t a big fan of sparkle in your black eyeshadows may like this one. I can see myself reaching for this shadow if I need a black eyeshadow. 

11 thoughts on “Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Review!”

  1. I love MUG too! I have my own collection (a very small one) that you can check out at makeupcrazy1.blogspot.com, or go to my other makeup blog at makeupcrazy1.wordpress.com! I love your blog looks! Your amazing!:D

Leave a Reply

