The Darkness Inspired EOTD!

Hey True Believers!

A few weeks ago I attended San Diego Comic Con (or SDCC for short) and had the pleasure to meet Marc Silvestri in person (He, his wife, and I have been twitter buddies for a few months now). Marc is freaking AWESOME and is the CEO and founder of Top Cow Productions (as well as an incredible artist!), which houses some of my most favorite comic books like Witchblade, Artifacts, The Angelus, The Magdelena, and The Darkness.  Marc was kind enough to give me a few books and the book below which he signed for me (I would have posted a pic of the signed one, but my friend has it right now by accident lol). 

This image inspired this look, and was the basis for the colors I used.

I loved the colors so much, that I told him my next look would be a Darkness look, inspired by the colors of the cover of The Darkness #105 SDCC Exclusive Variant (above).

I also recieved some lashes a month or so ago from the lovely folks at Faux Lash and wanted to use the Black Sparkle ones in this look! A short review of them will be below! 

The Darkness a.k.a Jackie Estacado is a bearer of one of the mystical/supernatural artifacts in the Top Cow universe. His powers only work at night and during the day he’s usually a crime boss. So he’s kind of a bad guy with good guy tendencies every now and then; An anti-hero if you will. I focused on using his armored form and the spiky tendrils he makes when he kills people. (again, he’s a bad guy lol). He can also create “Darklings” out of his powers. They are little demon like creatures that also do his bidding. I went more artsy with this one as something more “wearable” didn’t seem to fit this one quite right. 

Enjoy!

*Item received courtesy of respective brands. I was not asked to review them, nor paid to use them.

Faux Black Sparkle Lashes

Products Used:

Eyes:

Eyeshadow Primer: Too Faced Shadow Insurance (Original).

Lid Eyeshadow: Sugarpill Cosmetics Pressed Eyeshadow in Bulletproof blended upward into Illamasqua Eyeshadow in Burst* and blended upward into Sugarpill Cosmetics Loose Eyeshadow in Junebug*.

Tendrils: Sugarpill Cosmetics Loose Eyeshadow in Junebug.*

Background behind the Tendrils: Sugarpill Cosmetics Pressed eyeshadow in Midori blended upward into Acid Berry which was blended upward into Inglot Rainbow Eyeshadow 103R (the lightest yellow).

Round Accents: Makeup Geek Eyeshadow in Gold Digger*.

Lower Lashline: Sugarpill Cosmetics Pressed Eyeshadow in Bulletproof blended out into Illamasqua Eyeshadow in Burst*.

Waterline: Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes Eyeliner in Black.

Mascara: Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes! Mascara.

Eyebrows: Sugarpill Cosmetics Loose Eyeshadow in Junebug* patted on top of NYX Eye/Eyebrow pencil in Emerald City.

Lashes: Faux Lash Black Sparkle Lashes $12.00 from Faux’s website. (Mini Review: They are a light weight, very flattering to your eyes false lash set. I really loved the way they looked on my eyes and the added black rhinestones on top add just a touch of flashy. They were just a smidge bit heavier than a set of plain lashes, but not really noticable. The band was thin, which I love, and they were easy to apply and to shape to my eye.)

12 thoughts on “The Darkness Inspired EOTD!”

Leave a Reply

