Lime Crime ChinaDoll Palette Review

Hey True Believers!

Today I have a long overdue review for you on Lime Crime’s ChinaDoll Palette. They had sent me this palette months ago and I just got around to reviewing it! I’ve also used some of the shadows since then in looks so forgive me for having a not so clean and perfect looking palette. 

As always, my job to you awesome readers, is to provide you with honest and fair makeup reviews and fun makeup looks. I like to try all kinds of makeup from cruelty free companies because I am a makeup artist and I like to be able to test different makeup to see what is good, what is bad, and just learn in general for not only my self-knowledge, but for my clients. I also know a lot of you are curious about all sorts of products, so this is another reason why I do these reviews. My goal is to be fair when it comes to product reviews regardless of internet drama. I don’t get involved in that stuff and would politely ask that none of it gets brought to my little corner of the net. I am neutral! Thank you and enjoy! 

This will be a pic heavy post!

*Item received courtesy of Lime Crime I was not asked to review them, nor paid to use them.

This is a great eyeshadow palette! I do like the combination of these particular colors, and think you can really make some bold looks if you use them all together. I’ve worn the black several times and had really good wear time with it. It’s probably my favorite black eyeshadow. They look good over and without a primer as well, but as I have oily lids, I always use a primer. (I feel most people should for to get the most out of your eyeshadow, color and lasting wise). They are also the type of matte shadows that have a slight sheen to them, so they aren’t chalky or dry. They are super buttery/creamy, blendable, and pigmented. These are really good eyeshadows overall and are a nice add-on to anyone who likes matte shadows (since this palette is primarily matte with the exception of Goldfish).

Lime Crime China Doll Palette is $34.99. It is Vegan and Cruelty Free

About the China Doll Palette:

Collection of 5 pressed eyeshadows inspired by the exotic beauty of China. Superior coverage, creamy texture, and superb blendability. Palette arrives encased in a deluxe purple tin. 

Ingredients:

Mica, Zinc Stearate, Kaolin, Nylon 12, Caprylic / Capric Triglyceride, Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Capryl Glycol, Polyethylene, Lauroyl Lysine [+/-] Titanium Dioxide (CI77891), Iron Oxides (CI77492), Tin Oxide, Chromium Oxide, FD&C Yellow 5 Lake (CI19140), FD&C Blue (CI42090), Carbon Black (CI77266), Red 40 Aluminum Lake (CI16870)

ChinaDoll Palette
ChinaDoll Palette

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Fly Dragon Fly

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Fly Dragon Fly
(L-R With Primer, No Primer)

Lime Crime’s Description: Fly Dragon Fly – fiery red (matte)

My Thoughts: Orange based Red. (Camera didn’t pick it up the way it looked in person.) This eyeshadow was gorgeous and rich over a primer. It went on pretty buttery and due to it’s texture, can be blended very well. It’s very opaque and pigmented.

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Parasol

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Parasol (sorry about the chipped eyeshadow! That was my fault. Also, the gold flakes are from Goldfish.)
(L-R With Primer, No Primer)

Lime Crime’s Description: Parasol – sky blue (matte)

My Thoughts: Sky Blue. I had good pigmentation with and without the primer which was surprising. It didn’t look chalky because of the slight sheen this matte shadow has. This isn’t a color I typically use, but it’s so pretty I just might. Buttery and blendable.

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Goldfish

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Goldfish
(L-R With Primer, No Primer)

Lime Crime’s Description: Goldfish – bright gold (metallic)

My Thoughts: Yellow Gold Metallic. This was a beautiful yellow gold that I didn’t own, so it’s nice to now have it! It reminded me of that pretty gold that a lot of Indian jewelry designers use. It was also nicely pigmented over a primer but was a nice wash of gold without a primer. In person it swatched just as yellow as it is in the pan, but the camera didn’t pick it up.

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Jade-O-Lade

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Jade-O-Lade
(L-R With Primer, No Primer)

Lime Crime’s Description: Jade-o-Lade – rich jade (matte)

My Thoughts: Jade Green that almost wants to be Teal Green. Super pigmented and opaque over a primer. Still very pigmented without. Buttery, blendable.

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Lotus Noir

Lime Crime Eyeshadow in Lotus Noir
(L-R With Primer, No Primer)

Lime Crime’s Description: Lotus Noir – blackest black (matte)

My Thoughts: Blackest Black. This is VERY black. It’s pigmented, and is opaque. Probably one of the best black eyeshadows I own (It’s right up there with MUG’s Corrupt and Sugarpill’s Bulletproof, the best black eyeshadows!). It was just as buttery as the rest of the collection and was easy to blend. It has a nice sheen to it that keeps it from looking chalky. 

3 thoughts on “Lime Crime ChinaDoll Palette Review”

Leave a Reply

