Illamasqua The Sacred Hour Collection for Fall/Autumn Review!

Illamasqua-Fall2013-Sacred-Hour-Collection-Promo2Dawn-and-mother-email

Hey True Believers!

Tonight/Today, depending on where you live, I decided to do a review on Illamasqua’s fall collection, The Sacred Hour, for you! The imagery of this collection is just stunning and is true to form for Illamasqua’s makeup collection campaigns, showcasing the work of makeup artist Alex Box. This collection consists of a new eyeshadow palette, two new types of blushes, a lipstick, 7 new type of concealers called Skin Base Lift, a set of eyelashes, and two nail varnishes.

I’ll be reviewing the eyeshadow palette, two blushes, and lipstick below. Sorry about the swatch swipes on everything! I forgot to get pics before I did that!  >.< I did my best to get color accuracy with the photos, but some of the colors just didn’t want to appear correctly!

Everything in this post was purchased by me with my own funds.

The below products can be purchased  now directly from Illamasqua and later at Sephora.com.

sh1

sh2

Reflection Palette $53.97

Illamasqua’s Description: A combination of four highly pigmented shades and an innovative new water resistant eye shadow formula, the Reflection Palette creates striking washes of colour. With a long-lasting hold, each shadow’s silky texture allows for effortless application and blending. Choose from Precipice (Soft Lemon), Acute (Ash Taupe), Graphica (Graphite Grey) or Dart (Toasted Bronze).

Net Weight 2g / 0.07 OZ and 3×1.5g / 0.05 OZ

sh3
Swatched with no primer. Left to right: Precipice, Acute, Dart, and Graphica

My Thoughts: They feel amazing in the pan. Velvety soft and smooth. I swiped the above swatches with my fingers without a primer and they were very pigmented and buttery to the touch. The lightest color is indeed a light lemony color that just wouldn’t photograph correctly. I’m pretty pleased so far, but haven’t gotten the chance to see the wear time.

sh4

sh5

Velvet Blushers in Peaked and Sleek $28.57

Illamasqua’s Description:

Peaked: Dusky Rose

Sleek: Dusky Coral

Create a flush of intense colour with this long-lasting, matte blusher. The lightweight cream texture delivers a velvet soft cream to powder finish. Apply to the apples of the cheek, or across cheekbones to enhance and define. Build and blend with fingers or an Illamasqua brush for added colour-intensity.

5 g / 0.18 OZ

sh6

My ThoughtsAgain I had a hard time photographing so they were true to pan, but these two are beautiful dusky colors that are perfect for the fall. They felt like a cream to the touch, but once applied to the skin transformed into a powder finish that was easily blended out as you can see towards the bottom of the swatches above. I really enjoyed this new formula as it’s very easy to build intensity on, soft, and blendable. Coral is usually a color I tend to stay away from as sometimes it clashes with my olive undertone, but the duskiness of this coral made it very skin tone friendly. I’ll be reaching for these a lot this fall!

sh7

Lipstick in Shard $26.19

Shard is a red violet, matte finish

Illamasqua’s Description:

With an unrivaled colour-intensity, long-lasting Illamasqua Lipstick won’t give up without a fight. Choose from a range of flawless finishes, from creamy matt to iridescent shimmer. For best results apply with a Lip Brush.

NET WT. 4g 0.14 OZ.

sh8

My ThoughtsIt applied evenly and smooth for me, though I read that for some people, it dragged. Mine was slightly warm from the heat, so I was able to apply it without an issue.  Because it is a matte lipstick, I recommend priming your lips before hand by exfoliating them so the lipstick doesn’t cling to dry spots. I didn’t find this lipstick drying at all for a matte lipstick, and as I write this, after 2 hours ago of applying, my lips still feel moist and comfortable underneath it. It can be applied lightly as a stain as well.

5 thoughts on “Illamasqua The Sacred Hour Collection for Fall/Autumn Review!”

Leave a Reply

