Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab Halloween 2015 Review (Part 1)!

This post contains products that were sent to me for review consideration!

Hey True Believers!

Long time no see!

Autumn is my FAVORITE time of year! We have pumpkin all the things, leaves turning colors into those gorgeous yellows , oranges, and reds, (well not as magnificent Southern California as it would be on the east coast or somewhere with actual seasons), Halloween and things that smell AMAZING! Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab was super kind and generous to provide me with some of their limited edition Halloween 2015 perfume oils for review! Their Halloween scents are usually ones I wear year round as I like to take a little bit of Autumn with me everywhere I go!

I’ll be breaking this review up into two separate posts as there are quite a lot to put into one post! Here are the first 5!

The following review is based on how it worked with my body’s chemistry. Because everyone has a different body chemistry, my opinion on how it smells may not be true for you. 

October (Halloween 2015)

$23.00 per 5ml bottle. Presented in an amber apothecary glass vial.

BPAL’s Description:  Dry, cold autumn wind. A rustle of red leaves, a touch of smoke and sap in the air.

My Thoughts:  Musk category.
In the bottle: A musk, and a whiff of the red leaves right off the bat. They even smell like they’ve been rained on.

On my skin: It’s a masculine scent. I do smell the touch of smoke as it begins to dry down. Then as it dries down even more, the sap comes through, and is slightly sweet. I really love this one a lot!

Magnificent Autumn (Halloween 2015)

$23.00 per 5ml bottle. Presented in an amber apothecary glass vial. 

BPAL’s Description: A scent that wanders through the Ages of Autumn, from the last green leaf to the first breath of winter.

My Thoughts:  Musk category.
In the bottle: I smell the green leaves. Super fragrant and fresh, like when you take one and split it and smell it. It smells REALLY good.

On my skin:  When it’s wet, it’s the fresh green leaves, and as it begins to dry down you can literally smell the leaves changing from green to that dried leaf smell. It’s glorious! It smells like a big pile of leaves that you’d like to jump right into!I keep smelling it on my hand because it smells so good. This one is definitely going into my rotation!

Pile of Leaves 2015: Dead Leaves, Red Musk, And Neroli

$23.00 per 5ml bottle. Presented in an amber apothecary glass vial. 

BPAL’s Description: This one is literally all the notes listed on the bottle.

My Thoughts:  Musk category.
In the bottle: Right away I smell the dead leaves mixed in with the red musk. I’m unsure of what neroli smells like, but the combination is lovely!

On my skin: I smelled everything in the order they were listed. Dead leaves that are drying into a nice robust musk. I do think I smell what might be the neroli as it dries down further into an exotic scent and I REALLY like it! It’s a very sexy scent. This one will also be going into my rotation!

The White Witch 2015

$23.00 per 5ml bottle. Presented in an amber apothecary glass vial. 

BPAL’s Description: Love pain-ecstatic, cruel-sweet: gold-flecked honey amber pulsating with red musk, patchouli coeur, bourbon vanilla, inky vetiver, pomegranate rind, myrrh, blackened violet leaf, and blood red rose petals.

My Thoughts:  Musk category with a slightly floral linger.
In the bottle: It smells slightly different from last year’s The White Witch (which is one of my favorites in my rotation). I feel like the emphasis was more on some notes than the previous version as they’re the same exact notes. It smells very complex. There is definitely a lot going on. I smell the honey amber, bourbon vanilla, and what might possibly be the patchouli coeur.

On my skin: It’s starting to smell more like last years as it dries down on me. I do smell the vanilla as I take a deep breath of it and then the rose petals show up shortly after. I still smell the other notes, but because it’s complex I can’t tell what exactly they are. It still smells amazing!

Halloween 2015: Bobbing for Apples, Apple IV

$23.00 per 5ml bottle. Presented in an amber apothecary glass vial. 

BPAL’s Description: Red apple with blackcurrant bud, black clove, and vanilla bourbon.

My Thoughts:  Sweet musk category.
In the bottle: Red apples right away, followed by the blackcurrant bud, black clove, and vanilla bourbon. Regina from Once Upon a Time would wear this!

On my skin: Regina would DEFINITELY wear this! The red apple starts going sweet as it dries down instead of being more on the musk side. It’s at that point that the black clove comes forward which turns the scent from slightly sweet to a little spicy. I would really like this as a body wash or an atmosphere spray (hint hint Black Phoenix Trading Post! 😉 ).  This is another favorite that has entered my rotation!

Part 2 Coming Soon!

 

One thought on “Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab Halloween 2015 Review (Part 1)!”

Leave a comment